First build, keeping it simple?

nigeldcat

Been considering a Tele for my first build for a couple of years. Don't own a Tele now but really want one with a Soft V neck as have played a few soft V's at the store and really like those.  I am an electrical engineer, so the electronics don't scare me at all.  Also pretty mechanically inclined, so not scared of anything mechanical, as I built vacuum chamber stuff and test fixtures with lathes and milling machines when I did my dissertation many years ago. I have no desire to do the finishing, so plan on buying the body and neck finished.  Let the professionals at Warmoth do it as they have the experience, equipment and paint booth to do it right.

Although I love how cool the burst finishes look and have considered a chambered body, my gut says go with a basic solid alder body with solid finish (leaning daphne blue) and satin maple neck for first build.  No exotic woods or special finishes for the first attempt. I am pretty sure I won't screw up, but for the first build, my goal is "keep it simple stupid" just in case.  I will splurge for stainless frets and a Tusq nut as going for playability over looks for this build.  Also plan on locking tuners for easy string changes. 6 saddle bridge for easy setup of intonation and action.  The rest of the stuff I plan to buy based on preference.  Once I get this build under my belt, then I may go for the supermodel looks, but for now my plan is splurge on hardware over the finish and special woods.  Do you think this a good plan for first build? 

Honestly, if you're having WM do the finish and you've got the chops for the wiring and hardware installs, I don't see why you wouldn't just go all out, regardless of it being your first build or not.