Bass Body Weight vs Neck Weight... What's the ideal balance?

PrestonSF

Hello,
I'm a new builder, and I'm confused.  I've only played one bass ever that I didn't think was "heavy."  It was the Fender Aerodyne J Bass...  Anyways, it seems like everything I read about Warmoth basses is all good, but pretty much every review or just-finished post I read says "sounds great but sooo heavy," or "neck much too heavy for body"...

So, what's the ideal balace?  It seems like around 5.5 lbs for a J bass body seems like the middle of the road.  I realize the sound I'm going for plays a part, but are there any "definately bad" combinations of body vs. neck woods?  Do you not want "ultra light" tuners unless you're already experiencing neck dive?  I was thinking an Alder g4 with padouk or wenge neck and fretless pau ferro fingerboard... 

Thanks for the responses, and sorry for being such a newb :)

PrestonSF said:
I was thinking an Alder g4 with padouk or wenge neck and fretless pau ferro fingerboard... 

Dude seriously, you have the same idea in mind as the bass i am working on  :icon_biggrin:...

I am pairing a 5lb 8oz Alder Jazz body with a Padouk/Pau Ferro neck (unlined fretless) with Hipshot Ultralites.

I was really freaked out about neck dive, but everyone here pretty much convinced me that i would be fine, but i am still a bit uneasy.
I guess the only thing i can do is just wait and see, but hopefully it will balance out ok.
If you can wait another month, i will probably have an answer on how well the woods balance.

Dude seriously, you have the same idea in mind as the bass i am working on  :icon_biggrin:...

If you can wait another month, i will probably have an answer on how well the woods balance.

Cool thanks for the info.  Yeah, I was thinking, I like everything about an Alder body and maple neck, so I guess I want something with classic balanced voice, but with an exotic woods twist.  Too many Alder fretlesses out there with maple necks and rosewood boards....