Australian orders

bass917

Looking for advice from aussies that have ordered Warmoth guitars recently. Im wanting to order a new strat neck and body but am worried about import fees and hidden customs costs. Ive noticed that when i order them separately (neck or body only) that Warmoth includes what appears to be G.S.T. (Warmoth calls it Aus-Tax), but ordered together the fee isnt there. I contacted Warmoth and they said tax would be collected by them on orders under $1000 au and cutoms would collect fees on $1000 and over.
Am i better doing 2 smaller orders or both together? I looked at customs site and it all gets a bit confusing with GST, import duty and import application fees so looking for help if someones done it all recently.
Also is there a preferred shipper (UPS/USPS).
Thanks in advance an apologies if this has been addressed in the past (couldnt find any posts on it). 

Rightio, been buying off & on from Warmoth for years. Not a lot of gear but still I have some experience...

Warmoth are right about the tax collection. Orders over Aus$1000 will involve Customs clearance in Australia with tax charges being levied and needed to be paid.... IF you involve UPS they will act as Customs Broker for you but from recollection when that happened to me, they charge a fee too.... but then once that was paid & the time cleared, they delivered to me and I was lucky to be home.... Another time, when the USPS started the delivery & Aust Post took charge I got an advice from them and had to front up to a clearing house (it was in Granville in Sydney - I was living in Sydney at the time), and once I paid the tax they handed over the body....

Nowadays, Warmoth collects for the Aust Govt on smaller orders... It used to be that orders UNDER Aus$1000 (inc Shipping cost) slipped through Australian Tax collection but that doesn't happen now.