72 P Bass

mvolke1

Just got this yesterday and got the pickups installed and wiring finishing last night. The only screw up was I accidentally set my pickguard on my soldering iron and burned it  :sad:

I'm debating whether to replace it and drill now, or wait. Does anyone know if the holes will be exactly the same if I do the drilling now and change it out later?

This is my first build, but I'm really happy with the Warmoth quality and service.

Anyway, here are the specs:
72 P Bass is swamp ash  :bass:
Maple P neck
Gotoh 201 bridge
Seymore Duncan SB-1 Vintage P pickup
.022 and a .047 cap

Attachments

• IMG_4650.JPG
    IMG_4650.JPG
    2.3 MB · Views: 591
Yes, your holes will be identical. Feel free to drill now for an easy replacement in the future. Great looking bass!

Knorris said:
Yes, your holes will be identical. Feel free to drill now for an easy replacement in the future. Great looking bass!

Thank you! I was pretty sick to my stomach when I did it.

mvolke1 said:
Knorris said:

Yeah, I know, that really sucks. But look on the bright side: It was just a guard! $40 for a new guard is a lot better than $400 for a new body! Just saying....  :icon_thumright:

BigSteve22 said:
mvolke1 said:
Knorris said:

Yeah, I know, that really sucks. But look on the bright side: It was just guard! $40 for a new guard is a lot better than $400 for a new body! Just saying....  :icon_thumright:

You're fortunate. It sure could have been a lot worse.

Last month, I was almost finished making a new body. All the routing done, comfort contours cut and all that was left were the string through holes. My fixture was wobbly and I ended up with a couple holes off kilter enough it changed the string spacing. I had to start all over with another piece of wood. I'll look at it for a while and eventually probably do something to salvage it but still, I was not thrilled at another week's work and $125 for the wood.

Rgand said: