7 String build questions.

FlyingV

Hello, noob here. I looked around a bit and did not see a post regarding this. If this has been covered please excuse me and a link to the past topic would be appreciated.

I don't suppose I need to tell anyone here all the reasons I am interested in doing a Warmoth build. What I would like to know is if the people who have built 7 strings using Warmoth's two choices of scale for the necks - 25" & 28 5/8" have found they got the sound and feel they wanted? There are lots of 25.5" 7 strings out there, I can imagine how they sound and feel because I have a 25.5" guitar. I also have a 26.5" scale Loomis and really like the feel of that scale. I have a 25" scale Carvin DC127 and I think it would maybe not be the best choice for a 7 string scale. I have never had a guitar with the 28 5/8" scale and I am wondering if it is going to feel strange and too bass guitar like?

Your opinions and experience on this would be appreciated.

LarsXI

At that point you'd have a baritone. For that, I'd go try out a baritone guitar someplace and see if I liked it. People generally enjoy the low chords, and cite competition with the bassist as a potential problem. You'd definitely have incredible range. You could cover rock lobster.

stubhead

The first thing to consider is that all the available seven-string sets are way off-base in their string gauges - a seven set with 9-42 on the top six usually has a 54 for the low B, to match tension it should be about a 60. There's a chart of sorts here, accumulated by someone who went through the tension gauges at D'Addario's site:
http://www.sevenstring.org/forum/sevenstring-guitars/8340-optimum-string-gauge-sets.html