What was your first electric guitar?

JacobJames

I’ll start:

IMG_7987.jpeg

Aria PRO ll XX-MS 1984​

This was not a good introduction to the electric guitar. I could not sit and learn to play. Also, the electronics were not up to code we’ll say. Eventually it was sold off then I learned on an Epiphone Les Paul Jr special. Some days I wish I still had this thing though. I’m still learning BTW. My fingers are growing soft from my lack of dedication to playing the instrument. There is no lack of dedication to the instrument in itself.

Please share your first electric guitars if you would like below.👇 🙏🎸🤘

jqyn7wx0ux4j2y5mljbn.jpg

Ibanez RX170

The Boring Part

I remember my mom taking me to a small music store for my birthday when I turned 14. I couldn’t play anything except the Nirvana Come as You Are riff so I didn’t really try it out but it was recommended as a good bang for the buck. They showed me the color options from a catalog and I loved this candy green which they called emerald IIRC. So my mom paid for it and it went on order.

The Interesting Part

When we came back to pick it up some weeks later, the sales guy pulled out the guitar and put on on the counter just as some dude walked in the door. He said, “Wait here for a sec. Let me help this guy out real quick.” The guy bought some strings and left. The sales guy says to me, he says, “Do you know who that was?! That was Joe effing Satriani!” I be all like, “But that dude was bald…?” The sales guy pulled out a new guitar mag showing a bald Satriani and it was totally him. I wish the guy would’ve said something. I could’ve had my first guitar signed!

Last edited:
My first guitar was a 1974 Gibson SG. I don’t have a picture but it looked just like this one:

1728756501779.jpeg