Weight of neck vs weight of body

MrWalker

Hi!
I have recently built a Warmoth Jazz bass, using a chambered jazz body, with a swamp ash back and quilted maple top. It's coupled with an all brazilian ebony neck with steel rods. It's a fairly heavy neck, and the body is fairly light... as one would expect, the bass is slightly neck heavy, but manageable.

It is my first build, so I'm not very experienced with the weight of the various bodies and necks offered. For bodies, there is a weight given for each available body in the shop, but I can't seem to find a similar weight specification for the necks. The average weight for a swamp ash/maple body like mine is around 5 lbs. Whereas a solid body from some other woods could easily weigh around 6 lbs.

I was just wondering how much heavier my all brazilian ebony neck is compared to a more "regular" maple/maple or maple/rosewood neck. And if it would be worthwhile getting a heavier body for my heavy neck, and match the current body with a lighter neck, to get the balance to sit a little better.

Any opinions and experience on this? I could of course just add a little lead to the control compartment to emulate a heavier body and see how that would work out....

Thanks!

I have an all Brazilian Ebony Tele neck that Cagey did some work on.  Cagey works on a lot of necks and he claims mine is the heaviest so far. 

I don't do as many bass necks as guitar necks, so I don't have good numbers on those. But, for guitar necks, the average Rosewood over Maple neck weighs about a pound, give or take an ounce or two, while many of the exotic woods will run about 40%-50% heavier, with some freakishly so like Tburst's Brazilian Ebony neck that came in at 2.2lbs. Heaviest guitar neck I've ever handled. Pau Ferro and Bloodwood necks also show up surprisingly heavy due to their density.