Warmoth Strat Tilted Humbucker

tropicjungler

Hi, I'm a newbie who just finished his first Warmoth strat build.

I intend to make this strat as good as I can for my first time and one of the things that's bugging me, that I can't figure out, is that I can't lay the bridge humbucker flat. At first I thought it was the cables making a hump, then I thought the rubber screw sleaves weren't as good as springs, then I thought the screws were too long so I cut them smaller, but nothing really fixes this weird hump. Heck the strings buzz, it's high up.

Also when I loosen the screw to lower it, it just raises up from the pickguard and the humbucker doesn't lower down. Don't know what to do, It almost feels like I need to chisel the pocket to make it go lower.

Attachments

• Partscaster Pickups 1.jpg
    Partscaster Pickups 1.jpg
    589.6 KB · Views: 13
  • Partscaster Pickups 2.jpg
    Partscaster Pickups 2.jpg
    366.3 KB · Views: 11
  • Partscaster Pickups 3.jpg
    Partscaster Pickups 3.jpg
    360.4 KB · Views: 12
Have you tried measuring the depth of the pickup and the depth of the rout?

The humbucker may have a greater depth than standard and does not fit into the rout. What type of humbucker is it?

You will have to disassemble to a degree to see what is going on or to provide more photos etc for help with any troubleshooting.

I took some pics with a ruler. The cavity seems to be 3/4th of an inch deep and the height of the pickup, with the cable underneath, seems 7/8th of an inch high. The humbucker is an Anderson H2+, I dunno how deep the cavity of an Anderson Strat is but I can't imagine its any deeper than any other. I'm also starting to think that my pickup screws could be the issue too because as I was trying to tighten the screw on the treble side it started slipping. I guess the screw is too small for the pickup.

Attachments

• Partscaster Pickups M1.jpg
    Partscaster Pickups M1.jpg
    502.7 KB · Views: 6
  • Partscaster Pickups M2.jpg