Suggestions for a blues strat

tcliff7

Hi I'm new to Warmoth (my friend turned me onto it and now im obsessed haha) and I'm looking to build a strat instead of buying a fender or G&L legacy and I predominately play blues music. I'm wondering which wood for the body would sound the best. I'm pretty much set between the classic alder or swamp ash and was wondering what the pros and cons of each were. I'm looking to build an SRV/Eric Clapton/Buddy Guy kinda strat so basically a vintage esuqe type like from 1950's-60's. All suggestions would be very much appreciated.

Thanks Guys

Well, that's a tough one. I don't think you can go wrong with ash or alder for a Strat. Looks like SRV and Clapton signature guitars are alder, while Buddy Guy's is ash. I definitely wouldn't go with a hard ash as I think it's probably a bit too bright and crisp of an attack for what you're looking for. The notes are very clear and you can get great sustain with hard ash, but I am not a fan because of the attack. If you go ash, be sure to get swamp ash, which should be more balanced. I'd probably go for alder though.

How about necks? I'd be tempted to think about either a goncalo alves/pau ferro  or canary/pau ferro combination.

If you wanted to try something a little different, you could get the body chambered for a bit more openness and fatness to the sound.

Hard to go wrong with either choice for the bluz. 

The bigger difference is how you plan to finish it.  Swamp ash has a much more defined grain, and IMHO looks better if you were planning a translucent finish.