Strat - two tone controls - not actually per pickup?

danox574

Background: Do not play much guitar, I built a Gecko 6, but laying out electronics for a stratocaster section of a multi-neck guitar project. That's a bit TMI, I am just studying the stratocaster wiring at this time. I am doing this without a stratocaster on hand and only knowledge of some bass wiring and good understanding of schematics in other areas of electronics.

I am studying the standard modern stratocaster 3pu wiring diagrams, as in the stock configuration with the 5 way switch and two tone controls.

Each time I read about how these work, I hear them described as a 'Middle pickup tone control' and a 'Neck pickup tone control'. The bridge is without tone control, and I know that it is also wired in in some guitars, but for the purposes of this discussion - let's go with the traditional no tone control for bridge wiring, with a sample wiring diagram borrowed from StewMac here: http://www.stewmac.com/freeinfo/i-2001/2001.gif

However, I can't figure out why these would be consider pickup specific tone controls based on that diagram. On the left side of the 5 way switch, any pickups selected are connected in parallel to the common pin. In other words - they are mixed together before they get to the tone controls.

On the right side of the 5 way switch (isolated from the left side until the wire is run from common to common as shown in the diagram), one or more tone controls are put in parallel with the mixed pickup output depending on the position. In position 1 (bridge), no tone controls are connected to the output line. In position 2, and 3 the bottom tone control (Fender calls it T2) is bridged in an active. In position 4, both T1 and T2 are active, and in position 5, only T1 is active.