Soloist Build Finally Complete!! ...Almost

rorycosgrove

*Sorry if this is the wrong place to post since most progress is already done, I didn't see a place for completed builds besides gallery, and I have a few kinks to work out anyway*

Finished my first build awhile ago but I wanted to fix some issues before posting, I think now is a good time though. When I first set her up, I was getting lots of buzz around the 14th fret, and I have no experience doing fretwork so I took it to a local tech. The tech solved the problem, but I still have a few issues.

1. Some strings seem way too high compared to others; I removed the stock shim from my Floyd but it still seems too round for my straight 16 radius, so I ordered a few saddle shims yesterday.
2. Bending from a 17th fret A to a B on the high E is getting choked out, maybe some shaving needed on the 18th fret?
3. While I am using an unorthodox combo of a locking trem and a Tusq nut (with locking tuners), I'm having way too many tuning issues. When I bend, strings tend to go flat and when I dip the bar they go sharp. I have a strong hunch it's a nut issue, and I didn't take any steps to prep the pre-installed nut before stringing. Might the slots need widening, or maybe that pencil lead trick? I'm a nut n00b, most of my guitars have locking nuts lol.

Otherwise though, this thing plays and sounds beautifully! It was a fun project to build for the first time, and I learned a lot with a few hiccups along the way. I'm going to post a full unboxing/demo video when I have the time to edit it as well!

(First pic was taken by the tech)

Attachments

• 202907018_826004861676090_9192248112017919963_n.png
    202907018_826004861676090_9192248112017919963_n.png
    1.9 MB · Views: 88
  • 194227927_192013496147272_3991672353127688521_n.jpg
    194227927_192013496147272_3991672353127688521_n.jpg
    963.1 KB · Views: 69
Glad you are enjoying your guitar.