Rolling fretboard edges

croquet hoop

I am wondering which particular technique you would recommend for rolling fingerboard edges. I read a bit here and there on the subject, but I think it could be useful to centralize the information, notably the pros and cons of different techniques.

I am considering doing it on a boatneck. When handling it, the back felt great, but I found the fingerboard edge to feel surprisingly hard and uncomfortable. I went back to the guitar I have been playing for ten years (an Ibanez RG 1550, with "Prestige" fret treatment as they say) and found it much more comfortable. A closer examination of the thing showed that these years of playing had smoothed out the edges between the frets, so I think this is the kind of rolling I am aiming for on the boatneck.

So I want something quite subtle — but maybe the different profile of the neck (the Ibanez is 17 mm thick and very flat, the boatneck is a 25 mm thick V-shaped log) calls for a different kind of rolling? I am interested in hearing about your experience here.

I know that some want the entire length of the neck, both fingerboard and frets, to be beveled, as shown is this post from Ron Kirn: [link]

DSC_0002-39.jpg

I am mentioning it for the sake of completeness, but I don't think this is the result I am looking for. It looks like it could drastically change the shape of the neck in this area and slightly reduce the fret width (i.e. the "playing area").

Other, more subtle techniques involve scraping (or "rolling" with a steel rod) to various degrees the area between frets, leaving them untouched. I know that some consider this technique improper because the fret ends may stand out, but I can tell from my experience with the Ibby neck that if the rolling is subtle (i.e. not some sort of scalloping), as long as the fret ends are properly rounded, this should not be a problem. So this is what I'm considering at the moment.