Replace 5-way blade with a slider switch?

fuzzyoctaves

The old school strat style blade switches stick up so high because of the design. I hit them so much that I have dremeled down the blade and put a little piece of rubber on the tip. It is still too high. It seems to me that a slider switch design would work very well. Problem is: I can't find any 5 way slider switches that are still made. Does anyone know where I could find one?

Were 5 way slider switches ever made?

Slider switches for individual pickups might be an option such as on the old Schecters or perhaps you could come up with a way to lower the 5 way switch in a recess or bracket below the pickguard. Or work on trying not to hit it. I have been playing Strats for about 45 years and I can't see how you hit one accidentally.

stratamania said:
Were 5 way slider switches ever made?

Not made specifically for guitars, but I've found some online that aren't currently available: https://www.globalspec.com/learnmore/electrical_electronic_components/switches/slide_switches

Because the switch is a blade that moves in an arc, you can't recess it without routing out the slot. I'm trying not to alter that much due to being rear routed. My quest for a slider switch is all about eliminating the arc that requires the blade to be up so high. When I built my warmouth soloist, I went with a 5way rotating switch like my PRS Ce24 had, but this is a different guitar.