Pickup conundrum

bassface732

Hi all!

I'm a bit of a newbie with a question about pickups, but it requires a little background... I'll be brief!

I'm currently planning my 2nd guitar (a mooncaster).  My 1st guitar is also a Warmoth build; basically a korina HSH Strat with some pickup mods that allow me to get a good variety of Strat/Tele tones, plus a good aggressive rhythm sound for hard/heavy rock.  This suits me very well for my primary needs, playing alternative rock that ranges from funky to heavy.

For this 2nd guitar, I'm planning a mahogany/koa mooncaster that I'd like to serve 2 primary functions:  1st, as my primary guitar for playing jazz, and 2nd, as a suitable backup to my other guitar for playing rock.  In other words, I'd love to be able to get a nice warm, mellow jazz tone in one pickup position, and a good rock tone in the other that will sound good with high-gain/distortion.

When I first posed this question to some other guitar folks, the first response I got was that the Seymour Duncan "Hot-Rodded Humbucker Set" (https://www.seymourduncan.com/pickup/hot-rodded-humbucker-set) would be a perfect fit for what I'm looking for.  This is great... except that the guitar I already have has these exact pickups (with a custom stack in between them)!  This perplexes me because I think he's right; those two pickups make perfect sense for what I'm after, but the thought of building another guitar with the same exact pickups feels very questionable to me...  Is it going to wind up sounding too similar to my other guitar?  I am thinking that the darker sounding mahogany coupled with the hollow-ish nature of the mooncaster body will help contribute to a more jazz-y sound than the one I can get on my current guitar, but nonetheless I can't help but feel like I might be about to waste a lot of money if I'm going to build a second guitar with the same pickups as my current one.