Pau Ferro necks: tonally similar to maple?

Damon

I'm in the design phase of a strat project with the goal being a slightly hot, SRV-ish sounding axe (not that I can even begin to sound like Stevie, but I want to get close). I fundamentally have no issue with a maple neck, but ever since I bought a Warwick bass several years ago I've been in love with raw wood necks. So I'm considering a pau ferro neck (probably with some kind of rosewood fingerboard) since it's in the same tonal range as maple according to Warmoth's wood guide but has a similar feel to the bubinga neck on my old Warwick. Plus, I like the look and think it will complement the tiger's eye finished body I'm planning on nicely.

I've handled a guitar with a pf fingerboard, so I'm pretty sure I'll like the feel, but I have no first hand experience with how it'll sound. Any opinions on the tonal similarity between maple and pf necks?

I have a pau ferro neck here, but it's only ever been on one guitar. The only way to know for certain if there's a difference would be to put identically configured examples of both necks on the same body with the same pickups and hardware. But, they should sound very similar. Even if they don't sound identical, I suspect it would be so close that it wouldn't be worth talking about.

Sounds like it'd probably be more than close enough for my ears, so I'll forge ahead with the pau ferro neck plan. Thanks.

I'm sure you'll be glad you did. Of all the necks I've ever had, the Warmoth pro standard thin pau ferro one feels the best. It's got an ebony 'board on it, with stainless 6100 frets. It's just sex. Fast moving around on and glassy smooth to play. I'll probably do the same thing on the next build.

Next, after the pickups, the neck is the number one tone producing element of the solid body guitar.

Pau Ferro is a hard and dense wood.  It will likely be very close to maple in tone.

Whats Warmoth say on their web?

I started out with a MM maple neck on this build: