Here's the available gear - Make it sound good

W

whyachi

I'm trying to record some bass clips on my 2008 MacBook with Garage Band. I have a passive bass, an amp with 1/4" and a DI out, some 1/4-1/4 cables, a DI-1/4 cable and a 1/4-1/8" adapter. The MacBook has a 1/8" line-in and a webcam mic.

I cannot seem to get anything but buzzing through the recording. The webcam mic picks up sound but has obvious limitations for low notes. Running the 1/4 out to a 1/8 adapter results in constant humming which Garage Band assures me is actually me playing a low B. The DI>1/4>1/8 seems worse.

I'm not planning on using this for a band or anything, I just need something moderately workable for recording what a couple different pickups sound like.

Thus far I've tried running GB's compressor, but I'm a complete newb with Garage Band so I'm a bit lost on what to try next. The obvious solution would be to buy an interface but I really need to get by with what I have currently, an extra $60+ is out of the question.

Have you utilized the DI out yet?

oops... hold that thought.

Does the DI have a level knob?  Perhaps the signal is too hot into the Line In (Mac) and therefore clipping.

As well, is the Line In (Mac) stereo? (my guess is yes)... more than likely the Line Out is mono (verify this)... make sure
you have the proper 1/4" 1/8" adapters in mono, not stereo.  (or vice-versa - all depends)

The line-in is stereo as is my adaptor, but on the Mac I have the option to set it to stereo or mono. I tried the DI level from 0-10 and got the same thing all the way around the dial.

- try all mono adapters if you have them, set Mac line in to mono.

- for DI route, verify DI is actually working and isn't f00ked.

- the sound you're hearing, does it change pitch as you play, or a constant-pitch hum?

:icon_scratch:

now that I think of it, I've heard of some people having trouble with some line out stuff - where the ground had to be lifted... for example: