Headstock veneer, TOM and a few other questions

MVDW

Hey there guys.

I'm a new member. I'm also new to the whole guitar building thing, but I've wanted to do this for a long time. So essentially this will be the first guitar I'm going to put together myself. I've built a few Marshall clones before so I'm pretty confident I can do this.

I've been busy with the body and neck builders on the website.  I think I'm doing a mahogany Soloist with a rosewood top. Neck will be mahogany as well with an ebony fingerboard. 24 frets, wizard neck profile preferably, 6100 SS frets, no inlays, reversed headstock. Whole guitar will have gold hardware, with some sort of gold direct mounted BareKnuckle pickup.

Here a quick mockup:
soloistwarmoth.jpg

Few questions:

1) In the body builder on the website, I could not find a regular TOM bridge. Only a bunch of other bridges and a recessed TOM with string-thru body bridge. I don't want a recessed TOM. Am I doing something wrong? Has it to do anything with the neck pocket on the Soloist not being angled?

2) How is the satin finish? I've had a few satin guitars, one black, and the satin turned to glossy pretty fast where I touched it. Can I order it unfinished and oil it instead?

3) Is the ebony they use deep black or do you see the grain?

4) I was thinking that ebony veneer on the headstock would look really cool with the fingerboard. But I remember reading somewhere on the website that it's not possible on the Jackson headstock. Is that true? If so, why?

5) I've never had a guitar with gold hardware, will that coating come off easily?

Thanks a lot!

MVDW said:
Hey there guys.

I'm a new member. I'm also new to the whole guitar building thing, but I've wanted to do this for a long time. So essentially this will be the first guitar I'm going to put together myself. I've built a few Marshall clones before so I'm pretty confident I can do this.