Getting a Guitar Tech gig at a Music Store...

Jackson56

Do any other qualified forum members have an impossible time trying to find a Guitar Tech gig at their local music stores? I am a Roberto-Venn grad and have been building/repairing for 6 years, but every place I contact seems to have a "luthier" on staff.

I know Wisconsin is not a musical hotbed, but I find the good-ole boy network around here very frustrating. Just because someone is a cousin of the owner and knows how to resting guitars and maybe re-solder an output jack, or has done a weekend repair course, does not make him a Luthier.

It's the same over here in South Wales. Every singel music shack, of which there aren't many, has a guy sat behind the counter who can 'do a setup'. I've never paid for a setup because you just don't know who your handing your instrument too and what sort of setup you actually get. Perhaps if there was some sort of formal accreditation that people could display on their wall that says they are a qualified luthier, that might help separate the wheat from the chaff.

Our Guitar Center's "Master Luthier" Couldn't tell me how much neck inserts cost. or even what they were.

Somehow.

For some reason.

I don't want this guy carving out custom Contours on a 400+ dollar Black Korina body.

The best luthier I have ever met, who has made guitars for Ronnie Wood, Bobby Vee, and Paul Diethelm (off the top of my head), was completely self taught. He got into the game in the early 70's, and never had any professional training.

Do you need a diploma to be a luthier? I say no.

Are those jokers at EVERY music store (I'm talking to you, Guitar Center) luthiers? I say more than likely, no.

Paul-less said:
The best luthier I have ever met, who has made guitars for Ronnie Wood, Bobby Vee, and Paul Diethelm (off the top of my head), was completely self taught. He got into the game in the early 70's, and never had any professional training.

Do you need a diploma to be a luthier? I say no.