Gecko 5, noob looking for final opinions and advice before placing order

I've not started it yet, but I'm hoping I found the right part of the forum.  

I've been playing the same P-bass for 10 years and am generally happy with the sound.  I'm pushing to a 5-string to get a little more rumble on the bottom (low B  :icon_biggrin: ).  I'm looking to have a new bass that does things a little different than the P (just to have some variety), but I still want a smooth, warm bottom on it.  I'm hopping to get a little more punch out of the mids and not trail off the volume and strength when I go into the higher freq parts of the neck.  I mostly play at church in the mid-rock areas (think Chris Tomlin, Lincoln Brewster, Third Day type stuff, but the bass part!).

My concept build:

body:  alder or swamp ash
top:  Quilted maple -- blue dye (maybe tourqoise and blue burst, still thinking on this one.)
Neck:  wenge (i'll have warmoth install a nut before they ship it out.)
fingerboard: ebony w/wenge inlay.  Warm low and good midrange from the wenge and brightness from the ebony for good all around tone.  Overall, it should have a wenge heal, gecko, and headstock all matching with the very dark fingerboard.  From reading, these woods are hard enough to not require finishing and are still under waranty from Warmoth.  Does that sound correct you all you?  Does the unfinished neck require any special upkeep?

Pickups:  I want two active pickups.  Mostly to be a little different than my P-bass.  I'm thinking of the asb2's offered from Warmoth.
Tone:  2-band should be plenty.   Master Volume, Master Tone, and variable bridge/neck control.  Again, looking at the Seymours from Warmoth.