First Time Build Questions

jeffjwnz

All,

I'm new to Warmoth and contemplating my first build. I've owned hundreds of guitars and built with Kiesel and others before. Just have a few questions and I'm hoping you all can look over my build and help me identify potential blind spots or things to consider.

Based on what I am seeing I can save about $300 by selecting the in-stock body #1 vs. my custom body #2. The only major difference is that I'll have to go with a swamp ash body instead of mahogany.

Questions:
  • "Dye", it seems like this color has a slight burst - i.e. it's darker around the edges correct? Is it possible to get a solid trans black top without the 1/2" black burst on the edges? I'd like the flame to go all the way up to the natural biding.
  • In Body #1 below is that water on both images? Both the "dry" and "wet" images show the water, just wanting to make sure this body doesn't isn't actually a lighter color in the middle.
  • I am considering paying the extra $200 to ensure I get a minimum of a 3A roasted flame maple neck. I cannot currently choose my matching flame maple board, does Warmoth do a pretty good job of matching this up? Thoughts?
  • Modern vs. Modern Tilt Back w/ Reverse Strat Headstock - I've never seen a fender headstock with a tiltback design. Anyone have a link?
  • If you do a tiltback design do they add a scarfjoint?
  • Would you opt. for rear bolts on the Floyd nut?
  • Black (Burst-over), Black Burst, Black Burst (Burst-over) -- what is the difference in these 3? See the pic below.
  • Gotoh vs. Schaller (I vote Gotoh but want your thoughts)
  • 720 mod (I vote no but want your thoughts)
Any other tips or considerations are appreciated.

Thanks,
Jeff

back color.png

Neck:
  • Construction Modern
  • Shaft Wood Roasted Flame Maple
  • Fretboard Wood Roasted Flame Maple
  • Unique Choice No, Warmoth can choose for me.
  • Nut Width1-11/16" (43mm) - Modern Medium
  • Right / Left Handed - Right-Handed Reverse