Finishing Swamp Ash Cabronita

colaiza65

Hello everyone,
Just purchased a Cabronita (swamp ash). On my other DIY guitars I have finished with rattle can poly, Tru oil, & can Acryllic. They have come out pretty nice, although I am not an expert and I am not looking for perfection. This time I'd like something a little more glossy. I don't have any spray guns. So could someone kindly tell me if the following plan is doable? I only have a window of a couple of weeks to finish this puppy when it arrives.
1. Sand bare wood to 320, then 600, then 800. Clean with denatured alcohol each time. (Warmoth should need a lot of sanding right? At least that has been my experience).
2. Apply a dark Color Tone grain filler to enhance the grain. Let dry. Sand again with 320, 600, 800. Clean with denatured alcohol after each sanding.
3. Apply transtint yellow dye (stewmac bottle) diluted in denatured alcohol. Let dry. Maybe repeat depending on color.
4. Spray Stewmac (clear) lacquer in can. The recommended qty is about 2-3 cans in very light coats. (is steel wool necessary between coats?) Let last coat dry for a couple of days.
5. Apply Stewmac a coat of polishing (med) with a drill gun foam pad. Wipe off. Repeat. Apply more polish (fine) with the different foam pad on the drill. Wipe off.
Will all of this produce a decent glossy finish (Yellow with dark/black grains). Again, I only have about 10 days or so to finish because I have to travel. I really appreciate any feedback or suggestions. thank you,
Colaiza65

You need a grain filler for swamp ash. Also, you're not going to get that done in 10 days. You need a minimum of 2 weeks after you're done with clear coats before you can start finish sanding/buffing. You're not gonna be ready for clear coats for probably 3-4 days from start. And that's all pushing it.

WTH do you mean, Warmoth should need lots of sanding? The wood won't need ANY sanding because Warmoth already did it. Finish sanding - YES.