Anybody played a BlackSTAR amp?

rightintheface

NOT a Blackheart.  :glasses9:

I'm looking at the HT-5 head, which is similar to the blackHEART little giant (5w tube amp, except the HT is a/b class and not a class), but with a clean channel as well  :cool01:

i was gonna buy a blackheart to run at the same time as my h&k, but need (read: want) the flexibility of the clean channel too.
plus i couldn't really be bothered buying new tubes/mods etc etc. or course, none of this "needs" to be done, but pretty much everyone here has said that it kinda DOES need some tinkering. and i would have a good time modding it i'm sure, but would possibly break something also (i have zero experience tinkering with amps)  :tard:

the thing is, i know you can get a "clean" sound the old-school way; by rolling back the volume, but this would also effect my H&K's sound too. also, i am the vocalist (as well as only guitarist) in my band, and it's WAY easier for me to step on a channel switch than play with volumes knobs mid-song/mid-riff/mid-melody :binkybaby:
i figure i'll position the footswitch next to my H&Ks footswitch, and hit them at the same time to go clean/dirty in one foul swoop  :evil4:

the blackstar is a bit more expensive, but not by any obscene amount. and i'm planning on a straight trade with my local music shop, trading in all the gear i don't use anymore.

only one review on HC and is pretty positive.  :guitaristgif:

http://reviews.harmony-central.com/reviews/Guitar+Amp/product/Blackstar/HT-5+Head/10/1

anybody tried/heard/bought/had one? opinions?

There's a review from Guitarist Magazine on the Blackstar site - HT-5 Review

Would love to see a couple of those stacks set up side by side - for the sake of 700 GBP, that might be worth a try  :toothy12: