a black korina jazzmaster. which neck woods?

jorri

Can anyone recommend some woods that would work well for a korina jazzmaster i am building. i tend to like bassier tones, but with more detail growl and resonance rather than round or fat sounding woods. I'm completely new to this, but see no reason not to try out wood combinations i cant buy.

my ideas were- padouk n, purpleheart fb

- or goncalo or wenge n, pau ferro fb

it seems like descriptions of purpleheart best fit the kind of sound i want, 'thick bass' 'piano tone' 'rickenbackers'...
and i also want it unfinished, which is partly a playability/look thing and partly cost. (i'm doing the body myself in Oil finish too.)

but the part i'm confused about is how woods fit together tonally. like the effect of the type of body would compared to neck wood; what would be the tonal difference in having a dark sounding neck with a bright fretboard, and a bright sounding neck with a dark fretboard.
for example, I know on an acoustic guitar, the wood of the top, and the wood of the back very much effect different aspects of the sound, and wonder if this translates to electrics in the choice of neck and fingerbords.

Let's see if I remember how we generally rank in tone-affecting:
Amp, pickups, strings, neck wood, body wood, nut, fretboard, bridge, frets, unobtanium knobs.
I think that's about it, right?

the winning combination that I've observed multiple times is wenge with an ebony board for korina bodies, but I imagine that you could just get what looks and feels and suits your wallet best and not have to worry about the sound too much.

thanks for the advice. i suppose the main thing i will notice is that it will be a jazzmaster with flats into an ac30 and whatever effects i'm using..