The TeleBastard

Hey all,

A fun post…..The 80’s craze has hit my shop. My customers have been asking me to build an 80’s style guitar. 
41 years later, as a luthier I hit a new low..lol…..and decided to build the TeleBastard (photo's attached.). Ok, I have my leather suit on (or is it spandex) so insert comments at will!!

Cagey, I have read many of your outstanding posts and await your comment(s)…LOL.

This was a fun build. Floyd Rose, Maple fingerboard, and R3 nut are all dialed in at a perfect 12’’ radius. Pick-up is custom built Dimarzio Evolution.

This was the last Warmoth guitar (custom order) to be painted in neon. We had a few hiccups with the finish and Warmoth was outstanding!!! about getting things corrected.

I must say this is a terrific form and I always learn something new.

Enjoy, Joe

Attachments

• IMG_5149.JPG
    IMG_5149.JPG
    1.2 MB · Views: 731
  • IMG_5135.JPG
    IMG_5135.JPG
    990.8 KB · Views: 473
  • IMG_5133.JPG
    IMG_5133.JPG
    1.2 MB · Views: 457
  • IMG_5137.JPG
    IMG_5137.JPG
    814.3 KB · Views: 468
Nice build, but kinda hurts my eyes.  Absolutely nailed the 80s aesthetic!

giphy.gif

I'm with ghotiphry - nice build, but it sorta strains the eyes :icon_biggrin:

My memory is very bad, with a lot of it accidentally erased, but I don't remember '80s guitars being so... colorful. Lotsa wild angles, protrusions, points, etc., but it seems they usually still followed a theme. But, I could be wrong and probably am.

In any case, as long as it consistently sounds/plays well, you can forgive quite a bit.