That one discovery that changed you as a guitar player

alexreinhold

Hi all,

I've been playing many different guitars for about 20+ years. About two years ago, I bought a Charvel and it was love at first sight. It took me a while to realize that I had just fallen in love with its unfinished neck - It almost felt like I'd wasted almost two decades playing finished necks. I've since sanded all my necks down (yes, I'm aware of the risks - nothing happened thank God), gotten into guitar building and will never get a finished neck again.

I've been wondering - have you guys had similar epiphanies or am I the only latecomer to figuring out what kind of guitar player I am?

alexreinhold said:
I've been wondering - have you guys had similar epiphanies or am I the only latecomer to figuring out what kind of guitar player I am?

As a rule, I try to stay away from epiphones.. but to each their own.  :dontknow:  :toothy10:

But, in all seriousness..  I've always loved raw/oiled necks.  Comes from my love of the, you guessed it..  The old San Dimas Jacksons/Charvels from back in the day.  I guess that's why I have such an affinity for the Warmoth Standard Thin projile neck too.  The profile reminds me of those old J/C necks.  I don't necessarily have any kind of aversion to finished necks, and I can get around on them OK but if they get to feeling sticky I bust out the sandpaper and oil! 

Same here, was a huge Kramer fan early on, then in late 80's bought my first J/C, and have been a fan ever since. Over the years I've acquired many of them in my collection and will never sell them. The necks are like no other. Only think that comes close is Iby necks. But I do have a couple Warmoth wizard profile that I love dearly and they are all unfinished... :headbanging:

Low-med output humbucker pickups