Surface blems on an RSA body

jim232777

Started to post this as part of my unboxing post, but figured it was better here. This is my first build, so would appreciate advice.  Just unboxed this nice roasted swamp ash body.

Sanding--somewhere I think I've seen a statement on the approximate level of sanding Warmoth does, but I can't find it now...can anyone tell me what that was?  Also, is there any sort of sealer on the unfinished RSA?  Could have sworn it was on the site somewhere.  I've ordered a Wudtone kit, and the instructions suggest 250 grit with no sealer.

There are a couple of surface blemishes that look more like slight flat impressions, a few millimeters wide, rather than a true scratch. I guess they will need to be sanded out before the dye goes on, correct?  So in effect, that meaans sanding the whole body even if it's already at acceptable grit level and no sealer, just so it's all consistent, right?  I've included a pic, if you can make it out.

There is an area on the front edge, in general between the bridge and the strap pin, where the radius between top and edge is inconsistent--mostly a couple small areas where the radius is sharper than the rest of the body.  Should I try to even that out by sanding, or will that make it more noticeable? 

There are a couple long and thin dark spots that I'm not sure about.  Maybe got a bit warm during sanding?  The only one on the front is right next to a tiny knot so could it have come from that?  Should I expect those to disappear with the sanding I already have to do?

Thanks!

Attachments

• PXL_20210220_020630835.jpg
    PXL_20210220_020630835.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 205
  • PXL_20210220_020520148.jpg
    PXL_20210220_020520148.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 203
  • PXL_20210220_020952835.jpg
    PXL_20210220_020952835.jpg
    687.1 KB · Views: 186