Prepping a New Roasted Maple Neck

Cactus Jack

I have a few new necks, and rather than simply bolt them on, I decided to give them a solid once over. My goal is to burnish the neck, and level, crown, and dress the frets. I've never done this before so I'm learning as I go.

Here are a few pics of the necks right out of the box:

3o5XdEw.png

iRANc2e.png

mX6Jmvt.png

Again, I've never done anything like this before, let alone burnish a new neck. I read Cagey's post, grabbed the Strat neck, and got to work. My progression was 600/800/1000/1500/2000/3000 and roughly 10/10/15/20/30 minutes respectively. The pictures don't do the results justice. The neck is like glass, it's soooo incredibly smooth. Now for the good and bad. Good, I love everything about it. Bad, now I hate my finished necks and have 5 other roasted maple necks to do. Funny part, I thought the stock roasted maple felt fantastic...now it feels barbaric.

ZTSje6Z.png

DApWuUK.png

aAyKH9M.png

MuwqEWP.png

xYnpk4V.png

pGXFO4y.png

On to the frets. I debated if I should even attempt a fret leveling. I decided to let my fret rocker decide for me. I grabbed my fret rocker and spent darn near an hour inspecting the frets as closely as possible. While the frets are ready to for 99% of folks I did identify several uneven spots. Some areas were worse than others, but my rule was if I could HEAR the fret rocker tink off a fret I'd mark it. Here are my initial results:

yY6j3a5.png

ifqHX66.png

That's all I got for tonight. Tomorrow and over the weekend I'll attempt to level, crown, and dress the frets. Stay tuned!

Nice! I know Cagey did the fret work on my latest build (actually should be arriving to my door today sometime), as well as the burnishing for me, as I ordered it without frets. I may do the same but do the burnishing myself next time. I also like the idea of burnishing the fretboard, at least on roasted maple, which is now my favorite neck. Glossy or finished necks seems horrible now.  :toothy11: