New unfinished neck was wondering how to proceed.

333runes

Greetings all I am new to the Warmoth building experience as well as new to the community. I was wondering if you could possibly give me some pointers. I recently purchased a neck & body from Warmoth. The neck is quartersawn maple with an ebony fretboard all unfinished. I purchased it this way mainly because of my limited funds at the time plus I wanted the try experience of doing it myself. Since then I've done some research on the interwebs on the best ways to move forward with some sort of finish. I know that I want a very minimal finish but I do want to protect the wood. I can imagine a slightly thicker finish on the neck as compared to a thinner finish on the fretboard. Of course me being a total novice I could be totally wrong. As far as options are concerned I've read and seen videos about boiled linseed oil, tru oil, tung oil for the neck and lemon oil for the fretboard (Although lemon oil doesn't seem to be too popular of an idea)

Basically I would love to hear your opinion on what you would do next with the neck. It's going to be a while until I get the body that I ordered so I have some time with this neck. It sure seems very well made and the ebony fingerboard looks and feels awesome. I mean heck it looks like it could be played right now just fine the fretboard is so smooth and nice. So of course I want to be able to proceed effectively with positive results.

So far from what I've read I know that naphtha should involved (people were saying lighter fluid)… two or three different grits of sandpaper and some sort of oil for finishing. From what I understand, multiple coats of oil will most likely be used on the neck..I'm just not sure which oil to use or if there's a better option I should be considering that I'm not aware of.

Any insight or helpful hints from you nice people would be great to hear. I truly value your opinions and Thank you very much in advance.PXL_20240816_025331663c.jpg