New to Warmoth. Finish question.

voxic

Hello everyone. I'm new to Warmoth. I am looking to get something super high quality and custom for my 40th and after seeing a quote for a custom shop Fender (over $6,000) I started looking at alternatives. I always knew about Warmoth, but I guess I never realized thay had a build section, I thought it was more of an in-stock only product.  How wrong I was! 

Anyway, I'm in the market for quilted maple top and have been building guitars on the site and noticed most of the graphical representations are pretty close to the stock photo in the guitar builder. However, "Flame Burst" seem waaaaay off to me. Much much darker in the stock photo, which is my preferred look. Also the stock photo seem like it bursts from black on the edge and the graphic has literally no black in it. It looks like two different finishes to me with the graphic seeming to be bursting from red edges.

I know this is more of a question for Warmoth, just wondering if anyone has experience with this finish. I'm hoping they did not change the recipe and the lighter/brighter look is what the finish is.  And when ordering, do they allow customers to dictate anything about the finish, like "I like the darker look please"?

I attached a photo for reference.

Attachments

• fireBurst.JPG
    fireBurst.JPG
    102.8 KB · Views: 359
Welcome to the forum.

I have a flame top fire burst Tele. See the build thread in the link here:

https://www.unofficialwarmoth.com/index.php?topic=31662.0

I have multiple figured top Warmoth instruments. While the finish is always impeccable, in all instances the actual color has been darker in person vs website photos. The only way my bodies look like the website is to put them in direct sunlight.