Need some help....because I am a spazz!

rauchman

Greetings,

I'm pretty much done with the finish process of my Warmoth Tele build and started laying out the parts for assembly last night.

I had ordered a set of wildepickups.com Bill Lawrence Mircocoils and, after listening to "guitarslinger21"'s demo of them, also ordered a set of Twin Blades (L48TL bridge and L45S neck).  Some of the fine folks here recommended these pups as well.

Here comes the "spazz" part.  I didn't realize the L45S is the size of a Strat route, not a Tele route and won't fit in the Tele route.  Ughhhhhhhhh!!!!  I have it in my head that I will like the sound of the Twin Blades more than the Microcoils, even though I have zero first hand experience with either.  If I go all Twin Blades, this means routing.  I don't have a router, nor experience with routing.  I do have a Dremel with some routing bits though.  Is the routing necessary to make this work doable with a Dremel?  Rephrased a different way....is it more than doable with the Dremel and can a spazz like me make this work?

So, the way I see it, I have choices.....

1 - Don't use the Twin Blades, but instead use the Microcoils (not opposed to this since I have no first hand experience with either.....but, while yes, this is very superficial to say, I love the look of the Twin Blade, but it is a convenient solution to the problem)
2 - Use the bridge Twin Blade L48TL and the Micocoil neck (any idea how these would mix?....right now, this seems like the best compromise option)
3 - Route the neck hole to take the L45S pup (I typed that with trembling fingers....I have worries that I will somehow screw this process up and have visions of destroying the finish around the route area....the finish I've spend the last month working on.....everyday, and also could see my lack of routing experience possibly leading to having big gauging holes in the body)