My studies at Uni

Volitions Advocate

Hey guys.  I didn't know where this would be most appropriate to post, but since we're all musicians I figured this would be an interesting topic to share and discuss.  So I figure this would be the right place.

I've been having some conversations with my peers about our studies, and frankly several of them whine a lot about having to do stuff they don't want to learn about.

My response is to suck it up and stop being a baby, because you're in university dammit...  but some of them see it differently, and have managed to get some things changed by whining to the right people.

So I decided to email the chair of the program.  Our program is new.  I'm a 2nd year student, in the 2nd year it has been offered and already some things have changed. thankfully nothing changed in a negative way when you read my letter, but I'm worried it might.

I'll just skip explaining my issues and let you read the letter I wrote, I'd like to hear your thoughts and get some feedback.

Note: Rolf is the chair of the program, and Ian and Thilo are professors that are teaching me.

Dear Rolf:

I'm really glad that the 2nd year of studies has finally started.  All summer I was really itching to get back into the work and I can really tell that we're starting to get into the thick of it.

I'm happy that you have such an open door policy with concerns that all of us students have and I'm emailing you because I've got a concern I wanted to share with you and some of the faculty,  Although I'm not sure if you can even really call it a concern because there isn't really anything I'm asking you to do or change.  So thank you for humoring me and listening to my thoughts.

Since coming back this fall for studies I have had a handful of conversations with fellow students about the nature of our degree.  These weren't planned conversations or debates but they came up while discussing some of the things we are learning in our classes this semester.