Looking for critique on wood plans, including large body

orpeus

Hi, newbie here. I am currently planning out my first custom guitar. After doing some research, I have some ideas for what I'm going to do, but I wanted to check my ideas with some people with actual experience first to get some constructive criticism. I will explain my reasoning so that if I am wrong about anything, someone can point out exactly where. As a side note, I am aware that some of these choices will produce minimal effects on average, but I'm looking to get every little bit of tone that I can.

Here is what I am aiming for as far as tone goes:

• Strong bass response. I have played a lot of guitars where, plugged-in or not, the low E sounds muted or muddy to me. I want deep, tight lows.
  • Strong high-end response. I want notes all across the scale to have good definition, brightness, and clarity. I don't want the highest notes sounding like I've rolled the tone knob back.
  • Limited midrange response. Heavy lower midrange sounds muddy to my ears; heavy upper midrange sounds harsh and piercing. I'm not looking for a really scooped-out 80s metal tone or anything, but I definitely don't want midrange frequencies to dominate.

The body wood that sounds most like what I am looking for is swamp ash. The swamp ash guitars that I have played have resonated well, with unusually good tone and loud volume when unplugged. Some collected quotes about it:

"It is very resonant across the whole frequency spectrum. It has clear bell-like highs, pronounced mids, and strong lows." -jemsite.com
"This wood delivers slightly less midrange with full low-end and nice singing highs." -carvinguitars.com
"It is a very musical wood offering a very nice balance of brightness and warmth with a lot of "pop"." -warmoth.com