Jazzmaster modeling in Solidworks

XYZgnomon

I have decided to make a Jazzmaster body model in Solidworks for my own enrichment. I have never modeled an electric guitar before, although I have extensive design experience.

I have had some problems sourcing good data to build the model from, though. There is a .STEP file on GrabCAD, but it has errors. There are a lot of PDF drawings floating around that look something like a Jazzmaster, but are missing just enough data to make them nice to look at but not useful for CAD. Then, there is Electric Herald, which I bought plans from today. It's only slightly a little more useful but is still not enough information, and I question some of the elements of the DXF. I don't have Adobe Illustrator, but I opened the AI file in Inkscape and it didn't have much useful info either, with only a single layer.

I am surely missing something, and I'd like to know if anyone here knows of a good engineering print of a Jazzmaster. Even more useful would be any insight you have in to HOW Leo Fender and his team drafted the Jazzmaster in the first place. I have to assume there are a number of tangent arcs whose centers are offset in X & Y from the bridge as the datum, since they almost certainly did this in pencil on a drafting table. I'll concede there may be the occasional spline from a French Curve, but again, that's the stuff I don't know.

I would bet the Warmoth guys are reading this and laughing at me, since they probably went through this themselves over the years.

I admire your determination to try this.

Leo Fender & his crew were probably not very scientific as to try an engineering approach like you described, to get the offset design. More likely, he drew it roughly and told them to make it. He did actually get a Patent for that design btw. Gibson found that out when they introduced the Firebird.

I also wouldn't expect Aaron or anyone else at Warmoth to DM you with their program data for their machines!  :laughing7: