Guitar strings

Danuda

I am looking for any recommendations for guitar strings.  I have used Ernie Ball Slinkys since I started playing guitar, but lately I have had nothing but problems with them.  The balls at the end of the unwound strings seem to slip slowly over time until it falls off and the string pops out of the bridge.  I have had this with 4-5 sets of Ernie Ball strings now.  The most recent was just 30 minutes ago on a set of strings I had on for less than a month.  The string doesn't break, the wind at the end just comes undone.  It is also has a tendency to make the string go flat as it slowly slips so end up constantly tuning the guitar.  The problem seems to happen randomly.  Sometimes I will have a set that lasts until the strings wear and I replace them.  Then maybe the next two sets have issues.  Its driving me nuts.

I've always had good luck with D'Addario XL strings. Sometimes I'll throw on a set of Fender stainless steel strings, just for fun or to brighten things up a bit.

I use Fender 150s....had the same issue about 5 years ago.  Then it all was good again

I'm a fan of Elixir nanoweb coated strings.  I usually change 'em once or twice a year.

AutoBat said:
I'm a fan of Elixir nanoweb coated strings.  I usually change 'em once or twice a year.

+1

Once you try these, it's hard to use any other set of strings ever again.

I've used nothing but Ernie Balls for the past 20 years and have never had that problem.

Dean Markley Blue Steel is a very good choice.

The last time I used Elixirs I hated them. They would get fuzzy. That's dumb. I really like the DR Silverstars for coated strings. The Dimebag sets are nice too. Ya can't go wrong with DR's.

I keep Ernie Ball .010's on my Strats and .009's on my Music Man. When I play a gig I switch to DR's
MULLY

I use both, Ernie Ball Slinky and Fender Super Bullets. On both Trem and hard tail guitars.
All are 10's -- 46's
No drama's with either  :icon_thumright: