G4: From black to Korina - to DIY chambering

MortenB

Hi from Denmark, Europe  :icon_smile:

This is my first build thread here, but my fourth Warmoth build... For background on this G4 body, see this thread:  http://www.unofficialwarmoth.com/index.php?topic=21961.0

So basically this G4 body was a returned item, walnut body with black korina top ... and then for some reason a customer wanted it painted gloss black, and then returned it. So it was sitting in the showcases for just $199. Too good to pass up, it's now here in Denmark and I'm working on removing the black paint. It's a tedious process because there is both the black paint and under that several layers of clear coat. The paint remover that I found locally could work on the paint, but not the clear coat, so I'm sanding that off. Takes some time, but I'm getting there...

Some weeks ago I ordered a neck, not knowing that I would end up buying that black G4 body. I simply could not resist this piece of Pau Ferro fretboard wood, so I ordered a neck with it. The neck is on it's way over the pond right now, will update with pictures. It's a basic maple neck shot with a satin clear finish, and I have opted not to get dots on the fretboard. I want this piece of Pau Ferro to shine...

The body will get a tung-oil + wax finish once I get the last of the clear coat off.