Disco Scottie's First Build: The Adventure Begins

Disco Scottie

It's funny how you think you know what you want, but then things change.

When I started hanging out here, I had every intention of creating a guitar completely from scratch... the body, the neck, everything would be custom ordered. I was always thinking quilt maple top, PRS style stoptail, Standard Thin neck, exotic wood to keep unfinished and 22 frets among other specifics. So there was no way I would buy one of those pre-done things from the Showcase. I mean, come on, how could any of those compare to what I was planning?

The first big decision I made was to go with a 7/8 body/neck combo. I've been playing PRS for many years, and I prefer the shorter scale. This meant I would have to go with a 24 fret neck, which was not a huge deal. I started looking around the Showcase just to get an idea of what they stocked there. I certainly wasn't going to buy one. Heaven's no! But from the very first look, I had a problem. There was this S body:

z_showcasepage_body.jpg

It was all wrong - Zebrawood? What is that? And I don't want a tune-o-matic. Obviously not for me.

And so every day for weeks now, I'd keep coming back to this body. Little by little my internal argument machines worked their magic, the power of convincing becoming stronger and stronger. It wasn't long before my bizarre questioning of zebrawood turned to insatiable lust. The whole look, even the TOM became cooler and cooler with each viewing. But what about my "built from the ground up" custom I was planning? Well... I suppose I could always do that later on... in another build... (aw crap, now I'm addicted)