Bought a new Marshall Class 5

upnorthbacon

Started getting into blues and more classic rock so I sold my 6505+ and picked up a Marshall Class 5.  It's a fun little amp but has no bottom end with it turned up!  I have the high and mid knobs dimed and have the low on zero.  If I turn it past about 1 or 2 with the master volume all the way up it gets super muddy sounding bass.  Almost sounds like I'm playing with a big muff on or something?  Luckily it still sounds killer with the bass down but I do miss the low end of the Peavey.  Granted I've been playing minimum 12" speakers for several years but I don't remember a 10" speaker sounding so thin?  I plugged it into my 15" bass cabinet just for a few seconds and then I could dime the bass and got a really full sound so I'm assuming the little speaker just can't handle that much juice.  Now I'm on a mission to find a used speaker on ebay and build my own 12" cabinet.  The lower power output switch is a nice feature but again you have to turn the bass all the way down or it farts out really bad.  One last thing is man this thing is super loud!!!  I could not believe how loud it is all the way up!  I ordered a Rat pedal and I'm curious to see how it sounds about halfway up and running the pedal in front.  I'm hoping for a nice 80's crunch.  This would be the ultimate class A combo amp if they had put it in a 12" cabinet instead of 10".  And for comparison I've owned a Jet City, Blackheart, Vox Night Train, 6505+, and tried a couple Bugera combos as well.  I'm super happy with my latest purchase for sure!

http://www.tedweber.com/ probably has a speaker for you. You can fine tune your sound if you know what you're looking for.
Ceramic, AlNiCo, different wattages, ohms.

If it helps any they're hand built in Kokomo, Indiana.

They're built in China, if memory serves, but I got a Vox 1x12 cab to go with my Vox AC4TV and it really makes a huge difference (although the native 10-inch speaker is not half bad).