Baritone Jazzmaster- First Build

And so it begins. Excited to get this going.
PXL_20210604_200740745.NIGHT_3.jpg

Spent about 4 hours working on the neck today. Sanded the back up to 1000, then taped off and attacked the fret ends and gave them a polish. Feeling and looking good. Unfortunately was unable to drill the pegs for the tuners today as I discovered my bit was bent. Aw, shucks. Guess I'll have to go to the hardware store and buy tools. Don't you hate it when that happens?

Haven't decided how I feel about the pick guard yet. I had been warned this particular one looks different in person than in the builder. I'll probably stick with it for now and swap out the guard later if it's bugging me.

This is my first time shielding a cavity. You’re supposed to do the whole pickup route, right? Sidewalls too? It’s made it REALLY snug when I put the pickup covers in, to the point where it’s scraped or compacted some of the shielding.

Screenshot_20210606-135704%257E2.png

DieterDeux said:
This is my first time shielding a cavity. You’re supposed to do the whole pickup route, right? Sidewalls too? It’s made it REALLY snug when I put the pickup covers in, to the point where it’s scraped or compacted some of the shielding.

I'm here for the answer to this... unsure if I need to shield the pickups on my rear-rout body.

Finally received my missing neck screws and completed the assembly. Looks and sounds pretty good, but definitely needs some setup work. Still need to put on the string tree too.

PXL_20210615_032716197.PORTRAIT.jpg

My first Jazzmaster, but I know I’m not doing something right. Have a .5° shim in the neck and the bridge up about 3.5mm above the body (which i think is the Mike Adams spec) but the pickups are too close to the strings. When I put them any lower the covers start warping like below, so thats a no-go.

PXL_20210615_031057959.jpg